Skip navigation

At our local fiber arts sale, you volunteer time to reduce the percentage claimed by the Guild. Makes a lot of sense; just be sure to tell my sore muscles. I unloaded the trucks for set-up and can still feel it. I did a much less strenuous shift helping at check-out today.

I did a quick run-through when I arrived this morning, and maybe a third of what I submitted had sold. Hmm. Potentially two of the Scarves for Men sold and I witnessed a set of wrist-warmers being wrapped up. Overall the Guild has exceeded the goal for this year, but sales have been very, very slow. Once the tally is done at the end of the night, I’ll see for sure what’s left.

Trick is, handmade = pricey. And now is not the time for pricey things. I was hoping to have more luck with the recycled/upcycled items, but didn’t have a chance to see if they were still out on display. It may be that items like that need gallery or individual placement, and having time to do that isn’t in the calendar right now. (If I could find the calendar that is; my old-fashioned day timer went missing last week so who knows what I have time to do? I certainly don’t know!)

Current book: Still making my way through Abarat Absolute Midnight. Due tomorrow, so I’d better read faster.

Current audiobook: Building Social Business by Muhammad Yunus. Because I felt the need to be inspired.

Wish I’d read this quote years ago and taken the message to heart:


“Don’t spend time beating on a wall, hoping to transform it into a door.” – Coco Chanel

Leave a Reply

