Skip navigation

A few months ago, I found this blog entry from Sweet Sassafras about an amazing Icelandic pattern book.

I was dreaming of this book, even though it cost several months worth of my crafting budget. I hunted the book down online, but was unable to figure out how to order it (site is in Icelandic, imagine that).

Recently a friend told me she was going to Iceland. One of those friends who understands why you own a thousand books, shares your love of odd British words, and is willing to do you an enormous favor.

I didn’t even have to beg. I just asked her if she’d let me pay her the money and have her buy the book for me. She said, “Yes,” immediately and happily. She arranged the whole thing, picked up the book when she arrived, and proceeded to haul Most Precious Pattern Book around the country with her to make sure nothing bad happened to it.

The book was hand-delivered to me, gift wrapped by the museum, still in its plastic wrapping.


Icelandic Giftwrap

The lovely wrapping


Photos do not do justice to the sparkly, bronze cover of this beauty, much less to the wealth of historic patterns inside. This beauty is now out-of-print and not being reissued.


Icelandic Patterns

Sparkly Book


She and her husband will be receiving gifts made from patterns in the book. The least I can do, really, seeing as they both practically threw their backs out hauling this 5 pound beauty around for me for a week.

Recent audiobooks: First two books in the Maisie Dobbs series by Jacqueline Winspear, first two books in the Jackson Brodie series by Kate Atkinson. Recommend both!

“We secure our friends not by accepting favors but by doing them.” – Thucydides

Leave a Reply

