Skip navigation

I’ve been hunting for supplies and sites to help with the making of dolls for the Dolly Donations for Japan. Thinking some of you might be unsure how to proceed as well, I’m including the best-looking plans I’ve found in my hunting. I’ve never sewn a doll before, so we’ll see how it turns out. I went to the local thrift store and bought some incredibly soft 100% cotton sheets to use for the dolls themselves, and will use leftover quilt fabrics for the clothes.

The two patterns I purchased (only because they were on sale):
Burda 7611
Simplicity 2809

Helpful Things I Found Online:
How to Make Dolls Hair

Make Easy Rag Doll

FlatTops Rag Doll (Hmm, I’m sensing more dolls in my future, this time for breast cancer patients.)

Miss Gioia Rag Doll Tutorial

Miss Gioia Rag Doll Pattern

Making My First Rag Doll Part I

Making My First Rag Doll Part II

I’m very tempted to buy a french book, Poupee en Chiffon, after seeing this great blog posting about the adorable dolls you can make from the patterns. They just have a certain European flair, don’t they? I do realize that importing a book from France is MORE than I need to do at this point. If you cannot resist, you can try your hand at making it through the amazon.fr ordering process for the book.

Good luck with your Dolly making!

“Their toys are alive and can sometimes come to their aid, or get lost and Olie has to find them. They go to other planets. They go to the ice cream planet.” – William Joyce

Leave a Reply

