Skip navigation

Well, this would be why they call it “Beginning Spinning”

Beginning Spinning

roving or yarn?

I’ve taken the plunge with a 6 week Beginning Spinning class. We received big chunks of unwashed fleece to take home and prepare, as well as the loan of carders, a drop spindle, and a spinning wheel for the duration of the class. Not friendly to my nearly all-black wardrobe, but I’m getting used to having bits of cream-colored fluff everywhere.

No matter how slowly I treadle, things are moving too quickly on the lovely Canadian spinning wheel. What I’m making barely qualifies as roving, much less yarn. If we had to rely on me to spin the yarn for the EcoVillage, we’d all be in serious trouble.

I think I’m going to try doing more drop spindle and see if I can get any better at things if I have even more control over the speed. I did find this helpful video on using a drop spindle, which I’ll combine with what I’ve learned in person in class.

Anybody have any suggestions or helpful tips on any part of this process? Washing, teasing the wool, carding, or spinning itself? Please send those along, because clearly I need the help!

Currently Reading: Crown of Dalemark by Diana Wynne Jones

Recently Viewed: Just watched Nim’s Island based on the book by Wendy Orr and recommend it. Overcoming fears, being courageous in everyday life, and teaching your kid to value nature. Good themes there.

“Patience is the companion of wisdom.” – Saint Augustine

Leave a Reply

