Skip navigation

I admit it, I only learned to knit about two years ago. I asked a friend to teach me how to knit and purl so I could make hats for the now-cancelled Knit for Our Troops project.

I hold the yarn in my left hand because that is what makes sense to me. Even though I am right-handed, my right hand cannot seem to manipulate yarn.

Enter Fair Isle knitting. First impression? Yikes! How on earth do you folks do this? I have tried all six of the yarn-holding techniques in The Art of Fair Isle Knitting by Feitelson and nothing seems to work well. I have temporarily settled on both yarns in the left hand, wrapped either precariously or too-tightly around different fingers. This works for about 10 stitches, then the yarn falls off and I have to re-wrap and start again. My right hand has a death grip on the needle to manipulate things, which leads to cramping. Can’t assume that’s good!

Fair Isle Yarn

Fair Isle. Seriously?

So what technique do you use for Fair Isle? Are any of you actually using some kind of knitting belt to hold things? Any tips to share? I have two inches of basic ribbing to knit, and at 5 minutes per round, I may not have this done by class on Wednesday night.

“The illiterate of the 21st century will not be those who cannot read and write, but those who cannot learn, unlearn, and relearn.” – Alvin Toffler

Leave a Reply

