Skip navigation


“To accept good advice is but to increase one’s own ability.” – Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

I knitted up another pair of riesines (wrist warmers), this time in Panda Silk in 3021 cafe mocha.

Riesines II

From an Icelandic pattern

The folks at Shuttles were correct again; now I’m crazy about this yarn. Expensive, but I only used about half a skein making these wrist warmers.

I botched things when I went to sew up the seam, however. I wasn’t able to follow the written instructions given out at class. Not the fault of the instructions, which even had pictures with them, I just tend to learn better from experience. Again the ladies at Shuttles had a suggestion:

“Use a provisional cast on at the beginning, then use a three needle bind-off to knit up the seam.”

They said this as though I had the slightest idea what they were talking about. They told me to come back in and they’d show me (they know me well). I decided to try to figure out provisional cast on on my own, then I’ll go back in for the three needle bind off.

Tried these instructions on the great KnittingHelp but still couldn’t get it. Then I found these from Knit and Tonic using a long-tail provisional cast on. Success!

Currently Re-Reading: Redwall by Brian Jacques

Currently Watching: Sanctuary Season Two

“The only thing to do with good advice is to pass it on. It is never of any use to oneself.” – Oscar Wilde

One Comment

  1. I’m so thrilled that my class inspired you so much. Sorry it took me so long to find your blog posts. LOL.


Leave a Reply

