Skip navigation

I was just complaining a few posts ago that we needed a Sheep to Shawl event at our annual Stock Show. Now it turns out, there is a new educational event happening tomorrow in Longmont:

From Our Lands to Your Hands Education Event
Thursday, February 3, 2011
Boulder County Fairgrounds

They’ll be teaching kids that food comes from a farm, not a grocery store. In order to have food, we need farms. And in order to have wool yarn, we need sheep! I’m going to try to volunteer for a couple of hours tomorrow in the knitting and weaving booth. Event is for pre-registered classes only from 10-2, open to the general public from 2 – 4pm.

Continuing the farm theme, I was sad to learn of the passing last month of British author Dick King-Smith, who wrote over 100 books about the animals on his farm. One of these, Babe the Sheep Pig, was turned into the movie Babe.

I’ve been making my way through the Philip Reeve list of recommendations, and well, I guess childhood favorites are a very personal choice.

First up I read The Nargun and the Stars by Patricia Wrightson, which takes place on an Australian farm. I hated the ending. Hated it. Found it lacking in compassion for critters that are non-human. I usually enjoy Wrightson’s books, but not this time.

The Owl Service by Alan Garner takes place on a Welsh farm. It was winner of the Guardian Prize for best British book of the year in 1968, and was almost incomprehensible to me. On the other hand, I enjoyed his recommendation of Eagle of the Ninth and will be reading more Rosemary Sutcliff and Dick King-Smith.

Currently Knitting: About to start a second pair of Riesines (wrist warmers), just finished stringing the seed beads onto the yarn and am ready to cast on.

Currently Reading: The Victorian Internet: The Remarkable Story of the Telegraph and the Nineteenth Century’s On-line Pioneers

Currently Listening to: Hound of the Baskervilles

“I think the extent to which I have any balance at all, any mental balance, is because of being a farm kid and being raised in those isolated rural areas.” – James Earl Jones

2 Comments

  1. A kindred spirit who loves food, books and fiber!Would love to see pictures. I enjoyed reading your post. I especially liked learning about your book selections. Will have to read more of them…you have me intrigued!

  2. Day was a success, even though I’m a fairly useless volunteer. I mostly stood around while the ladies who knew what they were doing did a great job teaching fourth graders how to weave. The kids were excited to try out the three different looms, and we hooked a couple of adults on weaving as well. We weren’t as popular as the two-story-tall piece of farm equipment that was also in the room, but we did pretty well.


Leave a Reply

