Skip navigation

Gobsmacked

That pretty much has to be the word of the week, month, year. I spent most of the weekend at a workshop on eTextiles sponsored by SparkFun and PlugAndWear

The brains behind the thing were Lynne Bruning and
Troy Nachtigall amongst others.

AnioMagic also stopped by to give a demo of their program-on-demand LED lights.

We all received a SparkFun LilyPadPro starter kit as part of registration. If you look at the photo you can see how small this is. A little electronic board, 2 inches across, which (when wired up and programmed properly) enables you to do amazing electronic things with and to textile objects.

LilyPadPro Kit

LilyPadPro to blink and bling

I wasn’t able to stay for the Make and Play session (had to go to work), but I’ve been gathering supplies. In fact, have already spent money today at ARC (things to bling), RadioShack (things that blink), and Resource (cheap wire to help make things blink and bling).

Put my five skeins of 100% bamboo yarn in one place. I’ve been hunting for 100% bamboo yarn online, since bamboo is recommended for eTextiles (along with linen it wicks away water from sensitive electronics). Good luck with finding any of that yourselves, since most of the 100% bamboo knitting yarn seems to have been discontinued. If you find it, I suggest snagging it asap, even if you aren’t crazy about the color.

Next stop, Weavolution eTextiles group. Okay, and the used book store to find an old book on C+ programming.

Current DVD: Warehouse 13 Season One

Current Book: Nargun and the Stars by Patricia Wrightson. From Philip Reeve’s list of favorite books.

“I do not think there is any thrill that can go through the human heart like that felt by the inventor as he sees some creation of the brain unfolding to success… Such emotions make a man forget food, sleep, friends, love, everything.” – Nikola Tesla

3 Comments

  1. GobSmacked indeed!
    I’ll keep my eyes alert for bamboo fibers for you. I suspect ravelry followers will know just where to send you.
    Enjoy the creating!

  2. Hey! Great to see you.. I’ll let you know if/when I find any bamboo.. it’s out there I know!

  3. Gobsmacked, I just love that word! My year started that way too.
    Great write-up, I also blogged about the weekend workshop and included a link back to yours. Hope our paths cross again sometime!


2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] Links: What’s an Arduino Wit and Wonder’s story about the workshop Good press lately for SparkFun Tags: Arduino, eTextiles, fashion, LilyPad, […]

  2. By eTextiles Workshop on 20 Jan 2011 at 5:48 pm

    […] Links: What’s an Arduino Wit and Wonder’s story about the workshop Good press lately for […]

Leave a Reply

