Skip navigation

Every year I promise myself that I’m going to get to the National Western Stock Show to see the wool and spinning judging. It is mostly a cattle show but other stock do get a little bit of time.

The wool and spinning was last Thursday. I didn’t realize until Friday that the Stock Show had already started. One more year where I’ve missed the fleecy boat. I keep hoping that one year they’ll have one of those great Sheep-to-Shawl competitions, but it never happens. I don’t think we have one at the annual Weavers sale either.

One of these days I’ll be industrious-enough to try to organize one. It took me five years to finally remember to put something in our County Fair weaving category, but it did get done (one of many second place ribbons, but hey, it is something).

I went out to the Michaels sale to try to find more of the Discovery drawer pulls. Instead I found these mildly-steampunk coffee mugs for $0.43 each which are part of the same line. Not crafty but very fun.

Steampunk Mugs

Steampunkish Mugs

The Michaels sale was great – two-for-one on all kinds of things – I just couldn’t find anything I needed to make my crafting life complete. (Two weeks from now I’ll be back to purchase beads at full price for a knitting class, but since I don’t have the instruction sheet yet, I didn’t know what to purchase.)

“I was obliged to be industrious. Whoever is equally industrious will succeed equally well.” – Johannes Sebastian Bach

Leave a Reply

