Skip navigation

“Always read something that will make you look good if you die in the middle of it.” P.J. O’Rourke

I headed back to the yarn shop yesterday, to sign up for weaving classes – Pick Up and Doubleweave – two things I am incapable of learning from a book. I returned the yarn I bought Christmas Eve, which I was going to use to knit more hats for the troops. The program seems to have ended and there will now be military-issue only hats. Don’t get me started.

The black alpaca/silk weaving yarn I ordered also came in, so I can finally pair that with the Cascade Alpaca Lace Yarn in Red Wine Heather I bought in the spring at Tangle in Grand Junction. This stuff is really tiny, which means a much finer weaving than I’m used to doing. I like weaving with knitting yarns that disguise my mistakes. We’ll see what happens when I try weaving with this thread-like alpaca.

I also picked up a giant pile of holds from the library, since a lot of my requests seem to have come in at the same time. I can usually listen to audiobooks while weaving, as long as I turn the volume up loudly-enough to cover the sound of the changing of the weaving shafts. Unfortunately, most of these titles weren’t available in audio, so I’ll have to find time to actually sit down and read. If you look closely, you can see the Steampunk influence to my reading and a few resolutions hiding near the top of the stack – resolutions which involve moving not sitting around. I don’t personally know Syne Mitchell of WeaveZine, but I think she’s a great inspiration.

Reading - Decembr

Gotta Love the Library!

“It is what you read when you don’t have to that determines what you will be when you can’t help it.” – Oscar Wilde

Leave a Reply

