Skip navigation

“Go on, prove me wrong. Destroy the fabric of the universe. See if I care.” – Terry Prachett

I ran over to JoAnn Fabrics to get 1 yard of rust fabric. Ended up with 2 yards of fabric, one of which was the required rust.  I put back 6 other bolts of fabric that I decided I did NOT need. I keep buying fabric, putting it in boxes, and never having time to sew things. Typing of which …

I also ended up with 5 new Simplicity patterns.  I wandered over to the pattern area and discovered that Simplicity patterns were on sale 5 for $5.  Really, who can’t find 5 sewing patterns they’ll think about sewing for $1 each? 

Simplicity Sale

Simplicity Sale

I’m guessing they were good choices because the 20-something sales clerk wrote two of the pattern numbers on the back of her hand – so she could buy the same patterns herself later.

I focused on very simple patterns with a few big pieces.  I’m going to attempt to weave fabric, cut it apart (horrors), and actually sew a piece of clothing out of fabric I’ve made.  I haven’t managed to take the class in how to sew your handwovens so will need to seek input.  I’ll keep you apprised as I have no idea whether or not this will work.

“We live in a web of ideas, a fabric of our own making.” – Joseph Chilton Pearce

Leave a Reply

