Skip navigation

One of my favorite co-workers is leaving to take a new position a few hours away.  It is her dream job and one in which she will do a great deal of good for people most of us choose to ignore. I’m very sad she’s leaving and cannot fault her choice in any way.

I thought I’d weave her something as a going away gift, even though I haven’t woven anything in over two months. Trouble is her favorite colors are anything bright – pink, blue, purple – and my favorite color is black.  I threw myself on the mercy of the ladies at Shuttles to help me pick out a couple of shades of Bambu 7 to use (Apache Blue and Pansy), but I was stumped as to what to weave.

I stared at the cones for a day then dug through my knitting stash for inspiration. Hidden in a corner I found a ball of Blippity yarn from Crystal Palace in the variegated  “blueberries and grapes” color.  Not my usual style but I bought it out of the bargain bin of a sweet little yarn shop in Denver that has since closed its doors.

When I put the Blippity with the Bambu 7, suddenly I had a workable palate.  Weft it with black Bambu (to satisfy my craving for black) and now I have a scarf that I hope she’ll like.

Blueberries and Grapes scarf

Blueberries and Grapes

“Try not to become a man of success but rather try to become a man of value.” – Albert Einstein

Leave a Reply

