Skip navigation

I found my first yarn bomb last night whilst out walking a dog. At least I think it is a yarn bomb, but I haven’t yet found an artist who is claiming it online.

Urban Yarn Graffiti in Boulder, Colorado

I rushed out this morning to get a picture and someone has already begun unraveling it. If you want to learn more about this urban yarn graffitti, check out:
The Lady’s Fancywork Society
Yarnbombing
Yarnbombing on Facebook
Or follow on Twitter by searching for “yarnbombing

Like modern art, I kind of get it and kind of don’t. I’m just too fond of my yarn stash at this point to give it away as a form of public art!

“The strangeness will wear off and I think we will discover the deeper meanings in modern art.” – Jackson Pollock

7 Comments

  1. That looks like it was on a bridge? Where did you find it? The nice thing about yarn bombing is that it uses up all that ugly acrylic yarn your grandma got you for Christmas!

  2. This was on one of the overpasses on 47th Street/Foothills Parkway (Sioux Drive and Foothills)

  3. As of this morning, it has now been completely removed. Fleeting, ephemeral yarn art…

  4. This is absolutely fabulous – more of this needs to filter into our world!

  5. another install went up over the weekend in Boulder: http://r-u-engaged.com/what/

    • How did I managed to miss this? Darn it, I need to open my eyes and look around more often…

        • Tita
        • Posted 09/07/2011 at 6:23 am
        • Permalink

        it’s still up, and b-cycle endorsed the group responsible for it on their facebook page, so you can probably still see it if you want to. There’s a QR code scavenger hunt component too – looks like the winners get b-cycle memberships…


Leave a Reply

