Skip navigation

The loom cover is now complete and a relative success.

Completed loom cover and accessories holder

I had barely, barely, barely enough fabric to cover the loom using the Martha Stewart curtains from ARC. If you decide to make one of these for yourself, measure your loom ahead of time (height, width, and length both top and bottom). Then bring your measuring tape with you to the thrift shop so you can measure the curtains – or coverlet, sheets, or blanket – whatever you choose to purchase.

I was a little too generous when measuring for the seam allowance, so guard against that. You only need 1/2 inch for the seam allowance, and it may turn out that you need that extra inch or two somewhere else. I ended up using the scraps – top of one set of curtains and bottom of another set – to make a fabric accessories envelope for the other loom pieces. I’ve secured both the cover and the fabric envelope with large snaps, which I sewed on by hand. Overall, it took my brain a long time to figure this project out, but I’ve ended up with a solid, washable cover to protect the loom from sunlight – plus a holder for the spare reeds and other loom parts. Let me know if you try this!

“I believe that thrift is essential to well-ordered living.” – John D. Rockefeller

Leave a Reply

