Skip navigation

The scarf for the friend’s birthday didn’t work out quite right; she’s very tall and the scarf overall is a bit too short. Deciding to take a different approach, I started thinking about making something useful for this knitter friend of mine. After a bit of digging online I found this great tutorial:

Alexandra’s Knits: Alexandra’s Needle Case
http://alexandrasknits.blogspot.com/2006/01/tutorial-alexandras-needle-case.html

After several hours of work (because I’m not quick with the sewing machine), I’ve ended up with a fun pink and brown knitting needle case/roll as her birthday gift.

Knitting Needle Roll/Case Open

Knitting Needle Roll/Case Rolled Up

I think I’ll try making this again, for myself and another friend. My adaptations:
1) I made the upper guard double-sided, which gives it more heft and makes the project look more finished
2) Next time around, I’ll make the DPN’s pouch stripe about the same height as the Circulars pouch stripe. My double-pointed needles got lost in there (although I pulled them back up to showcase them in the photo, the pouch is actually too deep for the double-points I own).

Overall a great, medium-level project. And so great of Alexandra to post the instructions for all of us!


“Happiness is not so much in having as sharing. We make a living by what we get, but we make a life by what we give.” – Norman MacEwan

Leave a Reply

